the doctype HTML5 Introduction Tutorials

HTML5 Introduction

What is New in HTML5?


The DOCTYPE declaration for HTML5 is known to be very simple:

<!DOCTYPE html>

The character encoding (charset) declaration also seems to be very simple:

<meta charset="UTF-8">

HTML5 Example:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<meta charset="UTF-8">
<title>Title of the document</title>

Content of the document......


The default character encoding present in HTML5 is UTF-8.

New HTML5 Elements


Some of the most interesting new elements are:

New semantic elements like <header>, <footer>, <article>, and <section>.

New form control attributes like number, date, time, calendar, and range.

New graphic elements: <svg> and <canvas>.

New multimedia elements: <audio> and <video>.

In the chapter HTML5 Support, you will be learning how to "teach" old browsers to deal with HTML5 semantic.

New HTML5 API's (Application Programming Interfaces)


The most interesting new API's are:

Local storage is known to be a powerful replacement instead of cookies.

Elements Removed in HTML5


The following HTML4 elements have been removed from HTML5:

Element Use instead
<acronym> <abbr>
<applet> <object>
<basefont> CSS
<big> CSS
<center> CSS
<dir> <ul>
<font> CSS
<strike> CSS
<tt> CSS

In the chapter HTML5 Migration, you will be learning how to do migration from HTML4 to HTML5.